Review: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Title: Ready Player One

Author: Ernest Cline

Purchase: Available in the UK and the US.

Overall Rating: 5/5

Great For: Fans of Sci-Fi and Video Games

Themes: Science Fiction, Adventure, Video Games

I know that I have already written a review on this book in the past, but I really think it deserves to be in the limelight again, especially before it is made into a film by Steven Spielberg!

Review: Here comes a review of my all time favourite book that I discovered in 2011. It was so incredible and took me on a complete adventure that I have reread it over and over ever since, then thought ‘Hey, why not give it some love and write a review?!’

Player Begin.
This book is set in a dystopian and corrupt world, so corrupt that the human population live their lives through the world of Virtual Reality headsets. They go to school, go to work, creating a living, hang out with friends, all through a VR headset.

Where did this VR Headset come from? How did it get created?
There was a man who is seen as such an inspiration that created this world to make life worth living, a life that still had opportunity and hope. Although, once the creator died he broadcast a video to the whole VR world publicising that he had created a game, a puzzle within the VR world. The people of this world have to find a clue to start the game, complete each level and defeat several bosses. If they succeed, then the winner will gain the creators life time’s earnings.

I feel like I really should not say any more about this storyline as it immediately drags you in. Not forgetting that Steven Spielberg is currently making a film adaptation of this book. The book is full of classic video game, Star Wars and other Science Fiction quotes throughout too..

There are not enough words that I can say about this book, it is just outstanding and is so fast-paced that you will not want to put it down!

GAME OVER.

Featured Image Source

Comments

Let me know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.