Review: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Review: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Title: Ready Player One

Author: Ernest Cline

Purchase: Available in the UK and the US.

Overall Rating: 5/5

Great For: Fans of Sci-Fi and Video Games

Themes: Science Fiction, Adventure, Video Games

I know that I have already written a review on this book in the past, but I really think it deserves to be in the limelight again, especially before it is made into a film by Steven Spielberg!

Review: Here comes a review of my all time favourite book that I discovered in 2011. It was so incredible and took me on a complete adventure that I have reread it over and over ever since, then thought ‘Hey, why not give it some love and write a review?!’

Player Begin.
This book is set in a dystopian and corrupt world, so corrupt that the human population live their lives through the world of Virtual Reality headsets. They go to school, go to work, creating a living, hang out with friends, all through a VR headset.

Where did this VR Headset come from? How did it get created?
There was a man who is seen as such an inspiration that created this world to make life worth living, a life that still had opportunity and hope. Although, once the creator died he broadcast a video to the whole VR world publicising that he had created a game, a puzzle within the VR world. The people of this world have to find a clue to start the game, complete each level and defeat several bosses. If they succeed, then the winner will gain the creators life time’s earnings.

I feel like I really should not say any more about this storyline as it immediately drags you in. Not forgetting that Steven Spielberg is currently making a film adaptation of this book. The book is full of classic video game, Star Wars and other Science Fiction quotes throughout too..

There are not enough words that I can say about this book, it is just outstanding and is so fast-paced that you will not want to put it down!

GAME OVER.

Featured Image Source

Follow:

3 Comments

Let me know what you think!